Posted in Old Published Articles

Tools of Reporting or Tools of Turmoil

Gossip-and-Self-Exposure-Online

We are most certainly way past the era where we waited till every Sunday morning to pick up our Sunday broadsheet for that week’s scoop in the news.

The latest news is more of a click, stream and a RSS feed away as I munch on an apple while having morning tea. 

Coincidentally this week I watched the first episode of the new Beverly Hills 90210 to find out how quickly news (mainly gossip) get around within a high school populace through a blog including vlogs run by a fellow student, silver. 

This technology savvy global village is becoming more and more dependent on these tools used by media corporations, professional gossip mongers (i.e Perez Hilton) and citizen journalists to keep them in a newsworthy need-to-know arena at a mouse click away.

This is how the use of technology by anyone who has got a camera to produce information could violate and disrupt our right to privacy in our lives according to Mr. Kevin Sites.

– jessiefer

*Originally Posted on 10/09/2008 on Edublogs as an ongoing journal of what I learnt on a weekly basis as a journalism student at Deakin University.

Author:

Essentially an empath striving to be a better poet. Trying to make it on my own as working to build someone else's dream frustrates me knowing that I can spend that time for me. I dare to say the things I want no matter how stigmatised the topic maybe if it resonates with me deeply.

Leave a comment